UCSF home page UCSF home page About UCSF Search UCSF UCSF Medical Center
UCSF navigation bar
Skip navigation
  • warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /web/galen/htdocs/sites/all/modules/views/views.module on line 85.
  • warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /web/galen/htdocs/sites/all/modules/devel/devel.module on line 172.

Dictionaries

Dictionary of Medical Acronyms and Abbreviations (Book)

Call number: R123 .J24 (Information Desk)

Lists frequently used acronyms and abbreviations in medicine and health care, identified by a systematic scanning of collections of books and periodicals at the National Library of Medicine. Pure geometric symbols are not included except if they take the form of Greek letters.

Oxford English Dictionary (Website)

Full text access to the Oxford English Dictionary

The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.

Scientific and Technical Acronyms, Symbols, and Abbreviations (Book)

Call number: Q179 .E64 (Reference)

Contains 200,000 entries in over eighty different fields. A comprehensive reference source covering more scientific and technical disciplines than any other available book.

Stedman's Medical Dictionary (Book)

Call number: R121.E5 S8 (Core Reference)

A comprehensive, current, and accurate medical lexicon.

whonamedit.com (Website)

A biographical dictionary of medical eponyms covering all medical phenomena named for a person, with a biography of that person.