- warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /web/galen/htdocs/sites/all/modules/views/views.module on line 85.
- warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /web/galen/htdocs/sites/all/modules/devel/devel.module on line 172.
Subject Guides
- Biochemistry and Basic Sciences
- Blogs for Medical Information
- Clinical Medicine
- Complementary & Alternative Medicine
- Consumer Health
- AIDS/HIV
- Alternative Medicine
- Bay Area Consumer Health Libraries
- Cancer
- Child & Teen Health
- Diabetes & Obesity
- Drugs & Medications
- Find a Doctor
- Food & Nutrition
- General Health
- Health & Safety
- Heart Disease
- Medical Tests
- Men's Health
- Minority Health
- Senior Health
- Sexually Transmitted Diseases (STDs)
- Women's Health
- Dentistry
- Drug Information
- Evidence-Based Medicine
- General Reference
- Global Health
- Grants Resources in the Health Sciences
- Medical Education
- Microbiology
- Molecular Biology and Genomics
- Nursing
- Resources for UCSF Alumni and the Public
- Social & Behavioral Sciences
- Statistical Resources for the Health Sciences
- Tobacco Control
- Women's Health
General Reference
Key Resources
Dorland’s Illustrated Medical Dictionary (Book)
Call number: R121.E5 .D7 (Core Reference)
A dictionary aiming to furnish full definitions of the terms of medicine and kindred branches.
Encyclopaedia Britannica (Website)
Full text access to the Encyclopaedia Britannica includes the complete encyclopaedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year.
Merriam-Webster's Medical Dictionary (Website)
Merriam-Webster's Medical Dictionary contains over 57,000 definitions, verbal illustrations, and biographical notes. The dictionary also includes a User's Guide and Explanatory Notes.
Oxford English Dictionary (Website)
Full text access to the Oxford English Dictionary
The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.
See Also
- Databases and other full-text resources
- Books and journals at the UCSF Library