UCSF home page UCSF home page About UCSF Search UCSF UCSF Medical Center
UCSF navigation bar
Skip navigation
  • warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /web/galen/htdocs/sites/all/modules/views/views.module on line 85.
  • warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /web/galen/htdocs/sites/all/modules/devel/devel.module on line 172.

Heart Disease

American Heart Association (AHA)

Covers all aspects of heart disease including warning signs, diseases and conditions, heart and stroke encyclopedia, prevention, programs, and tools.

Cardiovascular Information Page

From the National Institute of Health, National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. Includes diseases and conditions, assessment tools (including a Body Mass Index calculator, and a 10 year heart attack risk planner), recipes for healthy eating, and educational tutorials, fact sheets, and information for women and ethnic groups.

MyHeartCentral.com

Includes heart patient guides, FAQs, "Ask the Doctor" column, heart encyclopedia, and animated heart videos and illustrations.

Mayo Clinic Heart Center

Compiled by the Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research, this comprehensive site covers prevention of heart disease, risk factors, treatment options, and strategies for decreasing the risk of heart disease, such as diet and exercise. Includes an online interactive risk calculator for heart disease.

NOAH-New York Online Access to Health

Extensive information on cardiac diseases -- symptoms and warning signs, causes and risk factors, complications, care and treatment. Spanish and English and a type size enlarger on the home page.

UCSF Cardiology Patient Education Pages

Developed by the University of California, San Francisco, Department of Cardiology, this site provides simple, clear patient information for typical heart related diseases and procedures. Clear colorful graphics.