- warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /web/galen/htdocs/sites/all/modules/views/views.module on line 85.
- warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /web/galen/htdocs/sites/all/modules/devel/devel.module on line 172.
Subject Guides
- Biochemistry and Basic Sciences
- Blogs for Medical Information
- Clinical Medicine
- Complementary & Alternative Medicine
- Consumer Health
- AIDS/HIV
- Alternative Medicine
- Bay Area Consumer Health Libraries
- Cancer
- Child & Teen Health
- Diabetes & Obesity
- Drugs & Medications
- Find a Doctor
- Food & Nutrition
- General Health
- Health & Safety
- Heart Disease
- Medical Tests
- Men's Health
- Minority Health
- Senior Health
- Sexually Transmitted Diseases (STDs)
- Women's Health
- Dentistry
- Drug Information
- Evidence-Based Medicine
- General Reference
- Global Health
- Grants Resources in the Health Sciences
- Medical Education
- Microbiology
- Molecular Biology and Genomics
- Nursing
- Resources for UCSF Alumni and the Public
- Social & Behavioral Sciences
- Statistical Resources for the Health Sciences
- Tobacco Control
- Women's Health
Blogs for Medical Information
What Is a Blog?
The term blog is short for "web log." A blog consists of postings that are text, images, audio files, videos, or any combination of these formats. The most recent posting is listed at the top. Postings are archived and often categorized.
The blogs listed here provide medical information and other related resources.
Categorized and Searchable
Health Politics with Dr. Mike Magee
Guide to trends in health policy and public health.
Medicine and Man
Relevant latest health news, tips on how to stay healthy, disease reviews, and other news and events related to the medical community.
Pallimed
Reviews of current palliative medicine, hospice, and end-of-life research with a particular focus on publications not from the major palliative care journals.
PsychCentral Blog
Analysis and reporting on the news and research findings in psychology, psychiatry, online behavior, and mental health.
Pulmonary Roundtable
Complex pulmonary cases and discussion of the possible diagnoses or treatments in the comments section.
The Cancer Blog
Cancer topics in the news, prevention, treatment, and types of cancer.
Doctor Diaries
California Medicine Man
Discussion of healthcare delivery and medical issues.
Kevin, MD
Commentary on primary care and internal medicine news and controversial medical topics.
Images and Clinical Cases
Clinical Cases and Images Blog
Collection of case histories, imaging, and clinical examination and procedures.
Clinical Images and Cases on Flickr
Image collections corresponding to the Clinical Cases and Images Blog. Not a blog per se, but rather a site of images and commentaries.
Radiology Picture of the Day
New medical image daily with a brief description.
The Teaching Files: X-rays on Flickr
Small collection of X-ray images with notes. Not a blog per se, but rather a site of images and commentaries.
Law & Ethics
Bioethics Discussion Blog
Discussions of ethical issues in medicine and focus on an ethical issue of the month.
Blog.bioethics.net
Blog by the editors of The American Journal of Bioethics (AJOB).
California Medical Malpractice Law Blog
Selected archives of a blog by San Francisco personal injury lawyers.
Medical Education
Medical Education Blog
Created by the University of Saskatchewan.
Medical Education Literature Searching
UCSF librarian's literature searching tips and other medical education resources.
Medical Journals
BMJBlog
The British Medical Journal's blog for discussions of each journal issue.
Health Blog
The Wall Street Journal's blog on health and the business of health.
Health Affairs Blog
Blog of the Health Affairs journal that covers health policies.
The Lancet Blog
Blog of British journal, The Lancet.
Nature Newsblog
Blog of the journal Nature.
Medical Technologies
MedGadget
Internet journal of emerging medical technologies.
The Palmdoc Chronicles
Latest medical PDA news and updates.
UCSF Blogs
UCSF Blogs
Blogs created by UCSF students, faculty, and staff.
Directories of Blogs
See Also
- Databases and other full-text resources
- Books and journals at the UCSF Library