UCSF home page UCSF home page About UCSF Search UCSF UCSF Medical Center
UCSF navigation bar
Skip navigation
GALEN UCSF DIGITAL LIBRARY
  • warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /web/galen/htdocs/sites/all/modules/views/views.module on line 85.
  • warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /web/galen/htdocs/sites/all/modules/devel/devel.module on line 172.

Resources for UCSF Alumni and the Public

Free resources, both databases and full-text, are increasingly available to the general public. The UCSF Library has developed this page to facilitate access to these resources for our alumni.

While the Library is not able to provide remote access to our online collections due to licensing restrictions, UCSF alumni are welcome to visit the Library to access them and may obtain a Library Borrower Account to check out print materials.

Additionally, members of the UCSF Alumni Association, UCSF Library Associates, and holders of the Corporate Borrower’s Fee Card may use the ProQuest Research Library, a searchable collection of over 2,300 journals, magazines, and newspapers. More information is available about the services & resources available to UCSF alumni.

Accessing Free Journals in PubMed

Identifying free full-text articles from PubMed search results

This icon indicates that the full-text article is available from the publisher's website free of charge.

This icon indicates that the full-text article is available through PubMed Central, a free digital archive of journal articles maintained by the U.S. National Institutes of Health.

Searching with a PubMed full-text filter

If you want to limit your search results to free full-text articles only, add the phrase AND free full text[sb] after your search terms.
 

Open Access Journals

Open access refers to freely available peer-reviewed scientific and scholarly articles available on the Web immediately after publication. Authors retain their own copyrights. For more information about open access, visit the Library's Scholarly Publication pages.
  • Biomed Central
    Free access to biomedical research articles including those just published. Some journals require institutional or personal subscription to view all content.
  • Directory of Open Access Journals
    Access to over 2,000 free, full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly journals.
  • PLoS (Public Library of Science)
    Access to peer-reviewed international journals that include PLoS Medicine, PLoS Genetics, PLoS Biology, and the soon-to-be-published PLoS Clinical Trials.
  • PubMed Central
    Retrieved articles will be free either immediately after print publication or after a certain time period.

Digital Repositories

Online public digital archives of an institution; deposited by scholars or publishers.

  • eScholarship Repository
    California Digital Library's open access pre-publication and postprint materials, journals, and peer-reviewed series by UC authors.

Other Resources

Additional resources for accessing free full text articles.

  •  Free Medical Journals
    Provides a list of journals that include free full text and other that become free to the public after a period of time after publication.